Welcome to Issue 2

Welcome to Issue 2 of Open Window Review, the on-line literary magazine of the Albany County Campus of Laramie County Community College. We are excited to share this issue with you; after a tremendously successful inaugural issue, we are back with even more poets, authors, and artists, including a new section devoted to some spectacular photography from artists near and far. In this issue, you’ll find our trademark eclectic mix of student, emerging, and established writers, some you’ll recognize from Issue 1, and some new contributors from across the country. We could not be more pleased to invite you to enjoy this issue of Open Window, and to join us for the opening night reception and reading on April 27th, 2012: reception with appetizers and desserts from 6-7pm, reading from 7-9pm, on the Albany County Campus of LCCC–1125 Boulder Dr. Laramie, WY. We look forward to sharing this issue–and a special night of celebration–with you all.

Lori Howe, Editor in Chief – Open Window

Featured Artist

Please congratulate our featured artist for Issue 2 David Romtvedt, former Poet Laureate of Wyoming!


Brandi Swedlund: Storm Mountain

Lori HoweProduce

Susan Marsh: Common Ground


Abel Ruiz: A Sproutling for Neurosis, Urbanite Leprosy

Art Elser: A Slight Depression, Surprised by Joy, An Elegy for Dinosaurs Now Gone

Brandi Swedlund: Highway

Bret Norwood: On Maneaters of Kumaon, He was a Regular in the Coffee Shop, To The Chaldean Zeus

Brit Blasingame: Fossil at Seattle Science Center, Mr. Gill, The Pasture

Connie Wieneke: That Dead Horse

Cornelius Kelly: Passport

Daniel Hayward: Circular Motions

Issue 2 Featured Artist: David Romtvedt, former poet laureate of Wyoming: Dilemmas of the Angels: Mojada, Dilemmas of the Angels: Extraterrestrial, Mojados en la frontera entre Sonora y Arizona

Diane LeBlanc: Fruit of Withdrawal, I Ask the Moon, Postcard from the Midwest

Dylan Robinson: Shallow Water

George Riddick: Occult

Hanz Olson: A Last Sight Airport Drones Out Icicles

Jason Deiss: Memories

Jeremy Bey: Dirt Song

Kade Hornbuckle: Reaching

Lindsay Wilson: April in Laramie, Eulogy for the Good Girl, Lee McCarthy, Religion

Lori Howe: Seven Miles South

Meaghan Eliott: Unbound, Perception, I Wanted to Write About

Randy Koch: even now, The Humanist

Shelly Norris: Confessions of a Solar Daughter, Linear, Memo

Sue Timberlake Austin Reutzel: Happy Birthday

Sunnie Gaylord: Glass

Thomas Glasco, senior Poet Laureate of Colorado: Elevation, Mellow Yellow at Kearney State, Morning Wind, Sand Poem

Treva Lannan: Escape, Tranquility

Short Story

A.J. Lamb: His World

Angel Phillips: Rafi

Court Merrigan: Josie

Dorman Nelson: Winter of ’93, Blowing Grass

Jason Deiss: The Walk

Jeremy Bey: Chief Little Bear

Oscar Lilley: The Firing Squad

Sunnie Gaylord: Genesis


Amy Williams

Daniel Hayward

Stan Decker Cannon

Tamara Linse

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: