THE FARM FOUR

By Rodney Nelson

during the ragtime of the prairie you had
a dance band in the family to counter
the bleating neighing and lowing of the yard
with a piano a fiddle a guitar
and a drum

your days not any one of mine

and I am not hearing you or sitting in
but I have crestfallen in the hayrick too
next to the wheat fields you knew and worked until
you played

three of you surviving the music

and drying on beyond my childhood might not
have objected to the clarinet I tried
our only falling out the matter of
your deaths

so I fellow you to honor all

you sheaved by note or by heart and the poster
will make you every one of me that I
tack up on the wall in my raggeder time

Categories: Issue 4, Poetry | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “THE FARM FOUR

  1. Cork

    And the musical tradition continued in spite of the falling out because of one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

