Pyrrhic Peace

By C. F. Kelly

 

The dark suits and red ties determined

that I should fight with knife and gun

in a foreign land and kill an enemy

whose speech I did not understand

whose food and dress were strange

whose crimes I never learned.

Perhaps his feelings towards me

were quite the same as mine

and he had left a wife and child behind

and risked the loss of life and limb

because some dark suits and red ties

had decided that war was good.

My legs are gone now replaced

with advanced designed prosthetics

that will never become arthritic

and my mind is a labyrinthine maze

that distorts reality in kaleidoscope fashion

and plays critical havoc with my emotions.

The dark suits and red ties from both sides

smile and sign papers and shake hands

because they have negotiated successfully.

Categories: Issue 3, WWII | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

